Adding Aux Input in place of....mic input?

90sKween

Jul 21, 2020
arizona
Hey yall
Very new to electronic work, this is my first project. I bought a boombox presumably from the 90s and I am trying to put in an aux chord.
I see many videos and instructions on replacing the cassette input to aux input but I would like to keep my cassette player.
I see instructions on replacing mic input to aux input however my mic input circuit wouldnt fit an aux input thing ( i will attach a photo of this)Photo on 7-21-20 at 8.06 PM.jpg.
..is there a way to make a new little circuit board for an aux input or a way to use the mic input? AHHH i dont know! :breakdance::thankyou:
Sincerely,
Emily

goodman

Member (SA)
Jun 14, 2011
Bulgaria
Hello.
You need to specify the boombox model.
Good idea is to find a service manual.
This makes it easier to find the place for the line input.
What device will you connect: cd player, mp3 player or gsm phone?

90sKween

Jul 21, 2020
arizona
Hello.
You need to specify the boombox model.
Good idea is to find a service manual.
This makes it easier to find the place for the line input.
What device will you connect: cd player, mp3 player or gsm phone?

Screen Shot 2020-07-21 at 10.05.31 PM.png
Hi thanks for your response!
it is a sanyo M9721..i had trouble finding a user manual online but i will dig deeper...
i was hoping to connect it to a phone or computer to play music from and record onto cassettes.

goodman

Member (SA)
Jun 14, 2011
Bulgaria
A service manual sells for $ 20 on eBay.
You need to look at the wiring diagram and consider what changes are needed to add a line input.
Knowledge of electronics, soldering iron and small electronic components - jacks, resistors, capacitors, etc. is required.
After the whole modification, do not expect excellent results.
It can be used for listening to music, but not for good recordings.
Low-end boomboxes like this Sanyo don't make quality recordings.